Morning pages

Morning pages is a tool of creative recovery. This is done longhand, in a stream of consciousness manner, first thing in the morning.  They are about anything and everything that crosses your mind. No over-thinking, no analyzing, no judgement- just freedom with pen and paper.

At first, I was reluctant to start morning pages, because I am in school that requires a lot of writing as it is, and I thought that more writing would not be what I needed. However, this ritual has become something that I not only greatly enjoy, but that I have found very useful in focusing my attention throughout the day. Something about getting my ‘random’ or ‘wandering’ thoughts on paper daily has helped me be able to better focus on tasks, as well as integrate those thoughts in a real way.

So, although morning pages are for the author’s eyes only, I started this blog as a way to share some of my writings that have stemmed from the free-write of my morning pages.

I plan to focus on health – which is total physical, mental, and emotional well-being. In doing this, my goal is to not only focus on my own mind, body, and soul, but also to shine a light on what is necessary to bring equity to the socio-economic systems which are the foundation to all aspects of health- such as the environment, education, and justice, through compassion, understanding, critical thought, and effective action.

Blessings,

Emily

 

Leave a Reply

